All Model Railroading Community Chat Forum  
AMR Shamus Cooncreek and Tumbleweed Springs AMR Shamus Badger Creek AMR Shamus How I make a model railroad

Go Back   All Model Railroading Community Chat Forum > Model Train Forums > Technical & Electronics also DCC
Gallery Image Hosting Calendar FAQ Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 16th September 2005, 14:42   #11
disisme
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Wiring your model railroad

I thought there was some Capacitor type system charging the probe Paul?
  Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2005, 15:35   #12
Shamus
Administrator
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 5,299
Default Re: Wiring your model railroad

Yeah Roger, CDU can be used with the probe, but can also be used without one. I advocate using a CDU because it won't burn out motor coils if left in contact. The probe has to be taken away from the contact before re-charging takes place with the CDU.

Shamus
Shamus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2005, 18:14   #13
disisme
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Wiring your model railroad

do you have any specs on that CDU paul so others can source it? I like that non-burnout feature. Where can we get em, can we make them ourselves?
  Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2005, 18:41   #14
Shamus
Administrator
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 5,299
Default Re: Wiring your model railroad

Sure you can make these, here's a link to one.

http://home.cogeco.ca/~rpaisley4/CDPSU.html

I prefer to buy mine from Gaugemaster products.

Shamus
Shamus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th September 2005, 05:44   #15
disisme
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Wiring your model railroad

wow..thanks Paul
  Reply With Quote
Old 17th September 2005, 22:26   #16
wickman
Senior Member
 
wickman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,233
Default Re: Wiring your model railroad

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shamus
Once all your track and points (turnouts) are down and ready for wiring, first make a simple drawing of your Trackplan on an A4 sheet of paper. This Trackplan you draw will help in determining where to place each D.P.D.T. (Double Pole Double Throw centre off switch) Every place where you have back to back points, need to have a power supply, if you are using Electro frogs. Even if you are using standard insulfrogs, if you want proper block control, then I would suggest that you follow these instructions as for Electro frogs.




paul where you say " Every place where you have back to back points, need to have a power supply "
is the power supply the DPDT switch or are you speaking about a power supply as in a seperate cab snds like a dumb quest I know LOL
__________________
Lynn

Location Great White North

The Layout http://www.all-model-railroading.co....ead.php?t=2907
wickman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th September 2005, 16:43   #17
wickman
Senior Member
 
wickman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,233
Default Re: Wiring your model railroad

__________________
Lynn

Location Great White North

The Layout http://www.all-model-railroading.co....ead.php?t=2907
wickman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th September 2005, 17:45   #18
Shamus
Administrator
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 5,299
Default Re: Wiring your model railroad

Lynn, that photo above is where to place all power supplies. Back to back points. no need for blocks anywhere else.

Shamus
Shamus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th September 2005, 17:49   #19
wickman
Senior Member
 
wickman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,233
Default Re: Wiring your model railroad

Paul I started new thread I understood I think what you were show though. I would appreciate your expertese input though
http://www.all-model-railroading.co....ic,2361.0.html
Lynn
__________________
Lynn

Location Great White North

The Layout http://www.all-model-railroading.co....ead.php?t=2907
wickman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th January 2007, 04:15   #20
Frank Cullen
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2
Default Re: Wiring your model railroad

Thread does not display pictures - how can they be viewed?

Thanks,

Frank Cullen
Frank Cullen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Your own model railroad forum Tedh The Narrow Gauge Lines 1 8th December 2010 15:16
Wiring My Railroad raj824 Technical & Electronics also DCC 16 21st September 2007 16:19
Model Railroad Clubs stripes2 General Talk (Off Topic) 6 23rd March 2007 08:30
Model Railroad photography Shamus Photography and Model Railroading 0 24th October 2005 11:41
Wiring your Railroad Shamus Wiring 0 24th July 2005 17:14


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 16:07.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.