All Model Railroading Community Chat Forum  
AMR Shamus Cooncreek and Tumbleweed Springs AMR Shamus Badger Creek AMR Shamus How I make a model railroad

Go Back   All Model Railroading Community Chat Forum > Model Train Forums > Technical & Electronics also DCC
Gallery Image Hosting Calendar FAQ Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 29th August 2008, 11:24   #1
DavidB
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 253
Default Doodlebug DCC and sound

I have just got an HO Spectrum Doodlebug and found the errata slip about cutting the green wire between pins 3 and 7 on the NMRA socket. However there is no green wire. What does this actually mean?

Any particular recommendations for a decoder? Would something like an NCE 1.25A N12SRP or TCS 1.3A DP2X be suitable, or would I better off with with something like a Digitrax 1.5A DH123PS?

Does anybody do a sound unit for a Doodlebug? I'm hoping some electronics will disguise the inherent coffee grinder sound.

Cheers
David
DavidB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th August 2008, 14:22   #2
LancashireFusilier
Senior Member
 
LancashireFusilier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,402
Default Re: Doodlebug DCC and sound

While I dont have your particular loco I do know that the TCS decoders are far more robust than the digitrax ones and I use them exclusively given they also have their 1 year goof proof warranty. I would suggest them every time.

Regarding the green wire issue, if you have ever hardwired a decoder in yourself before I would look at making sense out of the existing wiring based on basic DCC chip installation principles and explore the avenue of hardwiring a decoder in yourself.

I have literally removed the plug in attachment before and wired up a decoder as if it wasn't DCC ready sometimes with better success.
LancashireFusilier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th August 2008, 17:21   #3
TCWORLD
Mod Squad
 
TCWORLD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,336
Default Re: Doodlebug DCC and sound

TCS decoders are definately hardy things. Ive installed the same decoder 4 times (in different locos of course), and its still working perfectly, plus ive had to resolder one of the wires onto the decoder, and it works even after that.
TCWORLD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st August 2008, 03:13   #4
DavidB
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 253
Default Re: Doodlebug DCC and sound

I am aware of the reputations of the various brands. I was thinking more of the power requirements - 1.25A, 1.3A or 1.5A.

Cheers
David
DavidB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st August 2008, 05:30   #5
LancashireFusilier
Senior Member
 
LancashireFusilier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,402
Default Re: Doodlebug DCC and sound

Do you know the stall current of the motor? You could / should measure that then first and that will allow you to determine the better decoder.
LancashireFusilier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st August 2008, 05:41   #6
DavidB
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 253
Default Re: Doodlebug DCC and sound

I don't know the exact stall current, but Spectrum is quite high.

Cheers
David
DavidB is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Doodlebug sounds.... Iron Goat Technical & Electronics also DCC 10 12th February 2005 15:48
Doodlebug as Motive power John797 General Talk (Off Topic) 17 4th February 2005 01:17
Sound alternatives. beaser Technical & Electronics also DCC 7 31st December 2004 20:16
Sound system-WOW kobycrk Technical & Electronics also DCC 14 5th December 2004 06:17
Doodlebug question Iron Goat H0/00 - Scale 14 13th August 2004 02:31


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 15:51.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.