All Model Railroading Community Chat Forum  
AMR Shamus Cooncreek and Tumbleweed Springs AMR Shamus Badger Creek AMR Shamus How I make a model railroad

Go Back   All Model Railroading Community Chat Forum > Model Train Forums > Design and Plan your layout -- (Track Plans)
Gallery Image Hosting Calendar FAQ Mark Forums Read

Old 20th April 2007, 21:47   #1
MooUK

Default Vaguely-modular branch line, part 1: goods yard

As you may or may not have read here, I've decided that for a mixture of practical, temporal, financial and logistical reasons (read: I'm a poor final-year student with very little space and a serious need for employment), if I want to start on a model railway layout in the next few years it'll have to be something small and portable. That suggests something N-gauge.

And since what I want to model is British, late pre-nationalisation or just post-nationalisation, probably LMS (due to my love for Stanier/Fairburn 2-6-4Ts, and also due to what's available RTR), it makes sense to me to start with a small part of a branch line. Then I can later add more to it in the form of separate modules.

If I want the first module to be any use for actually running anything on, it needs to have a purpose. So, after much fiddling with Xtrakcad, generally failing to make something compact I was content with, I give you a small goods yard and tiny local station. The board there is 400mm by 800mm (about 32" by 16"), and the main track leaving the board is centred 50mm from the bottom edge.
MooUK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th April 2007, 22:40   #2
B-17_Fortress

Default Re: Vaguely-modular branch line, part 1: goods yard

Hi, and welcome to the forum.

Looks interesting, but I would consider straightening some of the sidings a little for a more scale like appearance. Loading platforms can be made closer to the track the more straight it is so reducing the gap to a more scale look when trucks are in the sidings.