All Model Railroading Community Chat Forum  
AMR Shamus Cooncreek and Tumbleweed Springs AMR Shamus Badger Creek AMR Shamus How I make a model railroad

Go Back   All Model Railroading Community Chat Forum > Model Train Forums > Design and Plan your layout -- (Track Plans)
Gallery Image Hosting Calendar FAQ Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12th December 2011, 01:49   #11
RW James
Senior Member
 
RW James's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,549
Default Re: Ffarquhar Branch - version 6

Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnM View Post
Locked in is where the ship has to pass through a single lock gate to enter the port. They're not just for canals.

John
Thanks John - I thought it might be something like that. So that means the tidal effects are reduced or eliminated?
RW James is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th December 2011, 13:38   #12
JohnM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Brockville, Ontario
Posts: 250
Default Re: Ffarquhar Branch - version 6

Typically with a single gate it would open about an hour before high tide and close similarly after the tide, so within the dock there is a minimal tidal effect. Usually this would open direct to the sea, however up a river a port such as Sharpness on the R. Severn has two gates just like on a canal as the river is tidal, and so the water level will be constant.
JohnM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th December 2011, 21:33   #13
RW James
Senior Member
 
RW James's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,549
Default Re: Ffarquhar Branch - version 6

In the lower left is a drawbridge that I've partially built and the abutments are 50mm from the base to the railhead. That would make the water 12'6" in OO and 14'3" in HO below the dock. Of course, after I pour the water, depending on the method I use, I could lose a few millimeters. Then when I build the ships I'll adjust the hull depth to make it look right.

It just occurred to me that the ship will rise and fall depending on how full or empty the cargo holds are... speaking of which, John you said:

Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnM View Post
...Judging by your plan you could quite comfortably fit in a 150ft freighter, which is pretty big for the Rev Awdry's era. Or a couple of schooners. Assuming a lock then your quay needn't be higher than 10ft.

By the by, the last trading schooner under the Red Ensign was the Nellie Bywater, which was lost off Bolt Head in 1951.

Cheers
How big do you think freighters would be here? I was thinking around 90 feet.

I also have a small steam tug I'll be fitting into the scene.
RW James is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th December 2011, 22:37   #14
JohnM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Brockville, Ontario
Posts: 250
Default Re: Ffarquhar Branch - version 6

Rick
As you can see from the pic of Nijenstein, 90 ft or even a tad smaller if you needed would be OK for a small coaster plying between England and Isle of Man.



This would be fairly typical of the era. Although you might want to base it on available space left after your tug. As a rule of thumb a ratio of 8:1 would approximate length to beam.

Hope this helps
JohnM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th December 2011, 23:04   #15
RW James
Senior Member
 
RW James's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,549
Default Re: Ffarquhar Branch - version 6

Thanks John! "8:1" another great bit of information
RW James is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th December 2011, 04:40   #16
JohnM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Brockville, Ontario
Posts: 250
Default Re: Ffarquhar Branch - version 6

Sorry Rick

I had a brain fart and gave you some mis information. A warship's profile is 8:1, a merchantman is closer to 5:1. The lesser profile gives them greater speed per HP, just like a whippet.
JohnM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th December 2011, 04:40   #17
RW James
Senior Member
 
RW James's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,549
Default Re: Ffarquhar Branch - version 6

OK good - thanks
RW James is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th December 2011, 01:39   #18
RW James
Senior Member
 
RW James's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,549
Default Re: Ffarquhar Branch - version 6

A new version with a few changes:

When I inventoried the number of points I had available from the old layout I discovered I had a few left over. So I made some changes.
First I added a passing siding (not sure what the British term for that is) on the viaduct. I wanted a double track there for the visual aspect. I figured I could park a work train there if I felt the need.
I added a second staging track below Knapford Station - it's hard to see, but trust me, it's there. It's attached to the hidden return loop.
I relocated the engine yard to give more room for shops and such in Knapford.
I added a short storage track next to Knapford Station. Though it's on the wrong side of the station, it will be the track where passenger engines rest between runs. In the TV show that's usually Gordon, but my layout isn't big enough for Gordon, so in my case it will be James.
RW James is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ffarquhar Branch - Part 2 RW James H0/00 - Scale 64 20th June 2010 23:15
Ffarquhar Branch - ready to start RW James H0/00 - Scale 93 8th March 2010 05:51
Disaster on the Ffarquhar branch RW James General Talk (Off Topic) 5 13th January 2010 20:57
Shoshoni Valley HO version JackH Design and Plan your layout -- (Track Plans) 9 23rd December 2005 03:39
Live Chat - New version Qube General Talk (Off Topic) 15 25th July 2005 23:19


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 14:54.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.