All Model Railroading Community Chat Forum  
AMR Shamus Cooncreek and Tumbleweed Springs AMR Shamus Badger Creek AMR Shamus How I make a model railroad

Go Back   All Model Railroading Community Chat Forum > Model Train Forums > Design and Plan your layout -- (Track Plans)
Gallery Image Hosting Calendar FAQ Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 26th July 2009, 04:38   #1
railworker6500
Senior Member
 
railworker6500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 175
Default Back to the Beginning

Well, I have stripped my 4x6 table and added another 4x8 to it. I know its not much but heres a picture.



A track plan is still in the making. I'll try to post a plan or two in the near future
railworker6500 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th July 2009, 07:49   #2
Howqua
Mod Squad
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 7,439
Default Re: Back to the Beginning

Go for it Alex,a blank canvas is a good thing.
Howqua is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2009, 04:32   #3
railworker6500
Senior Member
 
railworker6500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 175
Default Re: Back to the Beginning

Hello

Here is an idea of what i want. The inner loop uses a helix to raise it 6 inches. The out layer will be 0 all the way. The only part i dont like is the small yard(each turn out is about 18 inches =(. ) but I will try to fix that soon.


railworker6500 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2009, 06:13   #4
railworker6500
Senior Member
 
railworker6500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 175
Default Re: Back to the Beginning

Hi again

The only difference is the yard. 1 turn out is still 18 inches but the other two are 27 inches. More Storage and more to work with scenery-wise.

railworker6500 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2009, 06:51   #5
Made in Italy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,087
Default Re: Back to the Beginning

In case of derailment (or whatever like) are your switches in the reach of your arms?
Made in Italy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2009, 07:03   #6
railworker6500
Senior Member
 
railworker6500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 175
Default Re: Back to the Beginning

Ya, As long as I follow my ideas on scenery they should be reachable. And if not, I like to put trap doors on the back of the layout just in case
railworker6500 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2009, 01:37   #7
railworker6500
Senior Member
 
railworker6500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 175
Default Re: Back to the Beginning

Well, I was looking at the layout and noticed that you would have to back up to get to the inner loop from the outer one so I added two more turn outs



I still would like to add some more yard but this works.
railworker6500 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2009, 21:21   #8
GWRman
Senior Member
 
GWRman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1,074
Default Re: Back to the Beginning

A simple mistake to make, I did it myself and then I put myself into the virtual cab and went around the track and that was when I spotted my mistake. I now do this every time I make an alteration to my trackwork and i have found that the mistakes are then illiminated. Yuor track layout is now looking good and I bet you can't wait to start laying it down. Good luck.

Doug.
GWRman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th August 2009, 22:54   #9
railworker6500
Senior Member
 
railworker6500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 175
Default Re: Back to the Beginning

I am working on my track layout and the helix has a total length of 175.1 inches and in goes up 5.7 inches. Thats 1 inch up for every 30.72 inches across. Does that seem realistic, or even possible for my locomotive for that matter?
railworker6500 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th August 2009, 23:37   #10
TCWORLD
Mod Squad
 
TCWORLD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,336
Default Re: Back to the Beginning

I suppose it isn't realistic if you are finicy. If it were real the maximum in the scale space you have would be something like a 1mm incline.
Whether is is realistic for a model railway, yes it probably will be depending on the scenery. As long as you use the right scenery, quite steep gradients can be made to look realistic.

As for whether your locos could handle it, build a temporary incline to test how steep your trains will go with the largest number of carriages you are likely to have on the layout.
TCWORLD is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Finally,The Beginning of my Layout.................... Puffing Billy Newbies to Model Railroading -"The beginners forum " 65 9th October 2010 17:27
The beginning of the H0 layout in Shetland RedHamish Newbies to Model Railroading -"The beginners forum " 7 9th April 2010 16:30
New layout design beginning Jake1210 Design and Plan your layout -- (Track Plans) 2 11th December 2008 03:49
my beginning in on30 hebus 0n30 11 4th March 2008 07:11
The beginning Danny H0/00 - Scale 18 25th January 2008 02:07


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:26.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.