All Model Railroading Community Chat Forum  
AMR Shamus Cooncreek and Tumbleweed Springs AMR Shamus Badger Creek AMR Shamus How I make a model railroad

Go Back   All Model Railroading Community Chat Forum > Model Train Forums > Newbies to Model Railroading -"The beginners forum "
Gallery Image Hosting Calendar FAQ Mark Forums Read

Old 6th March 2007, 21:00   #1
tinlizzy56

Talking how do I wire my points ?

My question is how do I wire my points to a control panel with lights so I know which way my points are as in straight forward or turning to the left or right.
And how do I get a light to work on each turnout.
Being a novice I really don't know so please he me obi one your my only hope.

here is a picture of my stuff up

I have heaps of switches and at the moment the only way I know which is which is by the color stickers I have on them
tinlizzy56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th March 2007, 08:25   #2
LancashireFusilier

Default Re: how do I wire my points ?

Depends on how the switches are operated. If motorised by a slow motion machine such as the Tortoise or similar there are some extra contacts ion the machine that you can use to run an indicator on your panel.

I myself am using the master switch by DCC concepts here in Perth Australia and they use a double pole double throw switch to control a small capacitor discharge unit to run solenid point motors from Peco. The circuit runs an LED as a light that is connected to the circuit so when I throw the switch my LEDs in the panel light up too.
LancashireFusilier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th March 2007, 08:38   #3
DavidB

Quote:
Originally Posted by LancashireFusilier View Post
Depends on how the switches are operated. If motorised by a slow motion machine such as the Tortoise or similar there are some extra contacts ion the machine that you can use to run an indicator on your panel.
You can run indicator LEDs in series with the motor. No need to waste a set of contacts on the machine.

Cheers