All Model Railroading Community Chat Forum  
AMR Shamus Cooncreek and Tumbleweed Springs AMR Shamus Badger Creek AMR Shamus How I make a model railroad

Go Back   All Model Railroading Community Chat Forum > Model Train Forums > Model Rail Operations
Gallery Image Hosting Calendar FAQ Mark Forums Read

Old 4th January 2007, 00:11   #1
dfloat

Default Runarounds

Hi, I'm a newbie here, trying to design a steam era shelf layout in OO. One quick question - as I haven't got room for curves this will be a shunting layout with a couple of hidden sidings. I'm looking at having a station with a runaround for the engine, and that is where my question lies:

- As I won't have any way to turn the engine round how does this work when running a passenger train into the station, running the engine around the carriages and then taking the train back out again? Because, for one of these trips the engine has to be going backwards.

So, is the way to do it by pulling the carriages in with the engine facing forward, then pulling them out again with the engine facing back, i.e. the carriages coupled to the front of the engine?

Or am I missing something here?

Many thanks,
David
dfloat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th January 2007, 00:39   #2
B-17_Fortress

Default Re: Runarounds

That's exactly what happens at the North Yorkshire Moors Railway with their real passenger trains. While they have got access to a turntable, it isn't practical to keep running the loco away and turning it, so one direction on the line, the loco runs backwards, pulling the coaches.

Steve
B-17_Fortress is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th January 2007, 09:11   #3
Made in Italy

Hi,
Steve described the most common practice, but GWR on their branch lines had "push and pull" services where the locomotive wasn't "runrounded" at the end of the journey, while the coach was equipped with brake controls, whistle.
Franco
Made in Italy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th January 2007, 10:46   #4
B-17_Fortress