All Model Railroading Community Chat Forum  
AMR Shamus Cooncreek and Tumbleweed Springs AMR Shamus Badger Creek AMR Shamus How I make a model railroad

Go Back   All Model Railroading Community Chat Forum > Model Train Forums > 0 / G scales (Gn15)
Gallery Image Hosting Calendar FAQ Mark Forums Read

Old 25th October 2010, 22:50   #1
gbarnewall

Default MTH Scale Wheels beginner

Hi all,

first of all I'm a newbie to the forum and also a newbie to the hobby,
I purchased an O scale MTH Premier Line AC4400cw 2 rail scale wheels engine,at first I wanted it as a static display unit but now I would have a great interest in getting it set up on a very small (room limiting) layout,

Here's where I fall down,I'm completely lost as to what I need to run the engine,and lost when it comes to terminology too,

The engine is DCS ready,i'm 99% sure,so is it as easy as buying the DCS system from a dealer,and I take it I will have to get my 230Vac mains power to 110Vac power,

Someone has mentioned Digitrax DCC to me too,are there any advantages with either?

I appreciate any help or tips

If anyone wants to know anymore please ask,

thanks Graham
gbarnewall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th October 2010, 03:05   #2
BR60103

Default Re: MTH Scale Wheels beginner

Graham:
Welcome to the forum.
I don't know much about the MTH system. I have an impression that the DCS system is not the same as DCC. If it were (is?) you could buy a DCC system designed for 230V.
Depending on how DCS is designed, it might be possible just to put a 230-12 (or 230-24, whatever it takes) between the controller and the wall.
What I do know is that it is different to Lionel's system.
BR60103 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th October 2010, 23:28   #3
gbarnewall

Thanks David,

I appreciate the advice and your thoughts,
Hopefully I can get the engine up and running soon,and also learn much more from guys on the forum,the different threads and photos

Graham
Old 29th October 2010, 04:41   #4
RW James